Monday, December 17, 2012

It's Monday morning, and I gotta say that I am not feeling it today. This drive is starting to ware on me. Really needa look into moving out this way evebtually.

Hopefully it'll be a good day though.

Thursday, December 13, 2012

Onward we go

So the diet...wait not, life style challenge.. yeah that's better.

So the life style challenge is going pretty good so far. I could probably be eating a little healthier on some meals, but I'm def staying well under my calorie intake. I haven't had any soda, nor fast food.

Today I've been battling a killer migraine, which I am sure if from the lack of soda. It really makes you realize how bad it is for your body. I wouldn't say I miss it, except Mt Dew, that is the one that I always miss the most. So far so good though.

I took some stuff for my head, so hopefully I'll be able to sleep. I knocked out super early last night, and if felt good to kind of catch up on my sleep a bit. I'm hoping as I eat healthier, and start to lose weight, that I will be able to sleep better. I read a lot of really over weight people have sleep apnea because their bodies never truly rest. I suppose that could be true, so we'll see.

I wish I had something more insightful to write tonight, but it has been a pretty boring week so far. Work has kinda sucked, I think it's because I haven't been sleeping so well, so when I get there I just feel so blah. At least tomorrow is Friday  Which is awesome because it is bagel day at work, as well as because then I get to enjoy my weekend.

I'm thinkin the Hobbit for sure this weekend, and we were planning on lookin at X-mas lights, but we'll see now how the weather is.

Hope everyone has a good and safe night, and a great Friday.

Tuesday, December 11, 2012

Day 1 was a success. I did drink a soda though.Just one cup. When I got to work yesterday morning, there was no coffee, and I slept so horribly that I really needed some caffeine. I had one cup, prob about 8oz, of diet Mountain Dew. It was the only one I had. The rest of the day I drank water. Today I will have no soda at all for sure, since I'm sure there will be coffee.

Breakfast yesterday consisted of an oatmeal bar, which was actually really good. I snacked on sold almonds yesterday, as well as low fat string cheese. Lunch time was all about some chicken chili and a chicken sandwich. I had a banana some time yesterday as well.

All in all it was a good day.

I did mess up by not eating dinner though. I didn't have time to get something to eat before class, and by the time I got home at 8PM after class, I just wasn't hungry. Since I wasn't hungry I didn't force myself to eat. I really want to work on making sure that I eat at least three meals a day, usually I'll leave out a real breakfast. I think we have some oatmeal packets in the kitchen, I'm going to check before I go to work.

So today starts day 2, and I feel good after yesterday. It was easy choosing water all day. Hopefully today will be more of the same. I was in such a horrible mood yesterday because of lack of sleep, so I feel that if yesterday wasn't too bad, then no day will be.

Sunday, December 9, 2012

The beginning of every good story, has a good prologue.

I have to first say, it has been quite some time since I've really felt the urge to write. Even when it first started coming back I fought off the urge, telling myself I don't do that anymore. But the longer I tried to hold out, the more I started missing writing. There is just something about writing that calms the mind, something I haven't had since I stopped having a car to work on. Writing just takes the edge off. It doesn't even matter if no one is reading this.

I do imagine that most people who read this know me personally, but just in case that is not always the case, let me give you a little insight to who I am, and what I'm doing here.

I'm getting married on November 1st, 2013. Just writing that makes it feel so real and so much closer. It also makes it seem so much more exciting, more exciting than I ever thought I'd feel about getting married. I'm sure most of that is because I know I will be marrying the most special person I have ever met. She has been there for me through everything over these past years, and I don't think I could have done it without her.

Getting married is probably enough to write about, but damn, our life has been filled with so much new stuff over the past few months. My fiance launched her photography business, which I have now become a part of as well, and it continues to grow. That is something I'm always thinking about, how to expand the business, how to make it a main source of income for us and keep it something we both love doing.

I've also recently gotten a new job at the Taco Bell Corp office in Irvine. I work there as a Service Desk Analyst. It has been really great so far, the end of this month will mark my first 3 months there. I really like the work I do there, as well as the people I work with, which is even more important. I have also gotten a few of my friends jobs there (well, they got their own jobs, I just got them interviews). Life has changed a lot for me just because of this job. I work 6am-3pm, which took a lot of getting used to be. No more staying up till 2am before going to sleep. Going to bed before 10pm has been something to get used to, but it has been happening.

Getting back to the wedding though. With less than a year to go till that special day, I've realized I really want to slim down. It is time to start worrying about what I'm doing to my body staying this big. I don't mind being a big guy, and I know I'll never be 150lbs, and I'm good with that. I just want to feel healthier. I want be able to buy clothes from anywhere. Mostly though, I just want to look back at my wedding pictures and be happy with how I looked. I don't think I would feel that way right now.

My buddy Mark started a 24 day challenge, which has made me want to start one too. I know the challenge will be difficult, especially with the holidays coming up, but it's something I don't want to wait on. I feel that if I can get through it with the holidays, then this is something I could do all the time. A change that will stick. I have dieted before, but always out of reluctance. This is the most motivated I have every felt to change my lifestyle. I'm going to do it right this time. Weekly weight measurements as well as measuring my waist, thighs, chest and arms to see where I am loosing the weight from.

My new job is going to really help me with this. If I can get up early enough, I have access to a free gym at work. Also, our job supplies lots of low fat/no fat snack options. The hardest thing will be kicking soda because it is so easy to drink it at work because it is all free. It's so hard to turn down Mountain Dew, let alone free Dew lol. Soda is so unhealthy though, that I know I can give it up if I put my mind to it.

So tomorrow marks Day 1. I will post on how it goes.

Hope you will all join me on this journey.